About Sonomabirding.org

sonoma birding feather image

Mission Statement – Sonoma Birding [ORG] AKA- Sonoma Nature [ORG] was founded in 2004 in Sonoma Valley, CA. as a volunteer “citizen science” based conservation organization that establishes sustainable bird and nature-related festivals, activities, and programs for all ages, through a variety of partnerships in Northern California and throughout the United States and Canada.  


John Muir Award – Conservationists of the Year
April 2014 – Darren Peterie and Tom Rusert, co-founders of Sonoma Birding-Sonoma Nature, a non-profit based in Sonoma CA, received the 36th annual John Muir “Conservationists of the Year” Award. The award was presented at the 100th Anniversary celebration of both Muir’s birthday & his enduring legacy. In the history of public wilderness preservation, Muir’s achievements are unmatched. He was the founder of the Sierra Club in 1892 and “Father of our National Parks”. The  distinguished conservation awards were presented at the John Muir National Historic Site in Martinez, California.   John Muir Award Announced 

American Birding Associations – Griscom Award Presented to Tom Rusert

The Ludlow Griscom Award was first presented to Roger Tory Peterson, considered the father of the modern field guide,[3] in 1980. This distinguished ABA award is named after Ludlow Griscom, considered the “Dean of the Birdwatchers”,[2] a pioneer in field ornithology.

Madrone Audubon
Petaluma Wetlands Alliance
Redwood Regional Ornithological Society
Napa Audubon Society
Hungry Owl Project
Golden Gate Raptor Observatory 

State & Regional
Sonoma Land Trust
Point Blue Conservation Science
CA Burrowing Owl Consortium
California State Parks
Sonoma County Regional Parks

National & International 

Bird Studies Canada
National Wildlife Refuge System
Cornell Lab of Ornithology
National Audubon
Partners In Flight
American Birding Association
Bird Education Network (BEN)
USF&WS  – Federal Jr. Duck Stamp


Our Photography Team Credits – Christine Hansen, Len Blumin, Star Dewar, Duy Nguyen and Kevin O’Brien